Lily Fern Weatherford Retires

Over the weekend, Lily Weatherford announced on her Facebook page her retirement from Southern Gospel music, effective May 2013.  Ms. Lily is still traveling and singing at 84, having just recently celebrated 70 years in Gospel music.  Her son Steve will be continuing to tour  and an announcement will be forthcoming as to what the new configuration will look like.  Ms. Lily is refreshingly frank about the challenge of staying on the road, as her post included the following quote:

Over the past several years, there have been so many changes in the economy and and state of the country that it has become financially unfeasible for me to continue on in the same manner of ministry. Churches and pastors have changed their way of ministry and are not supporting the Southern Gospel groups as they have in the past. The Weatherfords have always depended on the church and free will love offerings to keep us going. Fuel prices are outrageous as well as other costs of keeping on the road. All these things have caused me to come to this decision.

The Weatherfords in the 50s and 60s were one of the top groups in Southern Gospel, having such distinguished alumni as Glen Payne, Armond Morales, and Henry Slaughter, among others.  They were known for their tight blends and harmonies, and their album In The Garden is recognized as one of the top albums ever recorded in the history of Southern Gospel music (it came in tied at #5 in my industry survey a couple of years ago).  Lily has appeared on numerous Gaither videos, and has always been one of our most unsung and unheralded heroes in SG.  Her smooth alto voice anchored the Weatherfords sound for years, and she belongs in the top echelon of vocalists in the history of our music.  Best wishes for a well deserved retirement, Ms. Lily!

About Wes Burke
I'm a .NET developer and Southern Gospel music fan. Married with a wonderful family.

One Response to Lily Fern Weatherford Retires

  1. In Honor Of Ms Lily – I pray these words will bless many. It’s God’s words to me for his servants who are retiring.
    WELL DONE MY SERVANT
    Before you were even born I had chosen you
    To share my light and my love in everything you do
    I knew every struggle you would have to face
    But you’ve always been covered by my amazing grace
    Even though you went through things you didn’t understand
    Not once did I drop you from my great and mighty hand
    I have long been watching you from my throne above
    Sharing my truth with multitudes and showing them my love
    Now I have a message just for you dear one
    You’re about to reap a harvest for a life of work WELL DONE!

Have something to say?