Matthew Holt Departs Perrys

According to a story on the Singing News website, Matthew Holt is leaving the Perrys to assume a position as an assistant director in the music program at Bethel College in McKenzie, TN. Holt is one of the finest pianists on the road today and will be sorely missed. No mention of the effect of this on his songwriting with Joseph Habedank was made, but hopefully their collaboration will continue. Best wishes to Matthew on this new venture, as I am sure it will afford him more time at home with his wife and young child. Being a parent of 2 young children myself, I can understand how hard it would be to be gone from them so much. Also, best wishes to the Perrys as they search for a new pianist.

Joel Hemphill And The Deity Of Christ

David Murray at Musicscribe has the scoop on some interesting statements from Joel Hemphill concerning Joel’s beliefs about Christ.  If all is as it appears, I have to confess that I am surprised and saddened.  I’d like to know what he thinks of Jesus’ statement in John 14 that “…if you have seen me, you have seen the Father.”  Joel is a legendary songwriter, and I hate to see this come out.