George Beverly Shea Passes Away

George Beverly Shea, known around the world as Billy Graham’s featured soloist, passed away yesterday at the age of 104.  Shea, sometimes called “America’s most beloved Gospel singer”, thrilled millions of people with his rich baritone voice.  Recording for RCA Victor, he was nominated for 10 Grammy awards, winning one in 1966.  He is a recipient of the Grammys’ Lifetime Achievement Award, and has been an influence on countless numbers of Christian musicians.  Below is a sampling of the tweets that have come out regarding Mr. Shea.

@GeorgeBevShea At 104 years young, Papa Shea has gone to be with the Lord. The family appreciates your prayers.

@MichaelWSmith My great friend George Beverly Shea has arrived on the other side. I will miss you! Dance away my friend ….and welcome home!

@MarkHallCC (Mark Hall of the CCM group Casting Crowns) George Beverly Shea went to be with Jesus today. I still hear him singing “I’d Rather Have Jesus.” Thankful to have met him. #heroes

@RebaRamboMcGuir Sitting at the feet of love, wisdom and greatness. R.I.P. George Beverly Shea.104 yrs you graced this planet!  pic.twitter.com/ZYDtpsl3q1

@KellyNelon A National Treasure went home to be with The Lord tonight,George Beverly Shea 104 years old.Thankful 2 have met & heard him at Gaither!

@GeraldWolfe1 Just got the message that a musical hero, George Beverly Shea, passed away a few minutes ago. He was 104.

Shea’s passing has been noted by numerous secular news agencies, including the Associated Press, CBS, Fox News, and even the Huffington Post.  Bev Shea will be missed, but I’m sure he rejoiced when he heard the voice of the Savior he sang about for so long say “Well done, my good and faithful servant.”

Rest in peace, George Beverly Shea.

About Wes Burke
I'm a .NET developer and Southern Gospel music fan. Married with a wonderful family.

2 Responses to George Beverly Shea Passes Away

  1. Larry Orrell says:

    I was saved at a Billy Graham Crusade when I was just 12 years old and I heard Maestro George Beverly Shea sing for the first time “How Great Thou Art” witha 300 voice choir– it change my life at a young age. See you on the other side. Oh by the way say hello to my dad and tell him -I miss him so much !

  2. It was through Mr. Shea’s quote…”Fear Not Tomorrow, God Is Already There”, that The Lord inspired me to compose the song of the same name, back in the late 1960’s. Oh, what a reunion we’ll have one day in Glory! Carolyn Adkins

Have something to say?

