Post #1000 – A Thank You

According to my statistics on WordPress, this post is post #1000 since I started this blog a little over 5 years ago.  To be fair, not quite all of them are mine, there are a significant number posted by my partner in crime, Nate, and my first Thank You goes to Nate for keeping this thing going at times when I can’t.

My biggest Thank You is to all of you readers.  As of this moment, I am just shy of 356,000 all-time views(according to WordPress).  I am humbled and amazed that you choose to spend your time reading my thoughts and views and responding.  For that I can only say “Thank you.”  I know that my blogging pace has slowed considerably over the past year or so, but I really do hope to improve it in the coming months.  I may not get back to my peak of nearly a post a day, but that’s what I’m going to shoot for.  Stay with me and it will get better.  I keep telling myself that, anyways.  🙂

I thought at this milestone we’d look back at two things.  First, I thought it would be interesting to look at the top 5 most viewed posts on this blog.  My handy dandy stats from WordPress actually made this pretty easy to discover.  So here are the top 5 posts all time on this blog.

Top 5 Most Read Posts – Year (Views):

5.  Tim Duncan Departs Signature Sound; Ian Owens Joins – 2011 (4,869)
4.  Guy Penrod Taking Time Away From GVB – 2008 (5,841)
3.  Matt Dibler Leaves The Inspirations? – 2008 (5,962)
2.  The Most Underrated, Unappreciated Tenor Of All Time – 2007 (10,077)
1.  Greg and Charlotte Ritchie Depart from Jeff and Sheri Easter – 2008 (11,980)

Believe it or not, I am STILL getting comments on numbers 1 and 2 occasionally, even though the posts are 4 and 5 years old, respectively.  Those have definitely had some staying power!

The other list I wanted to look at are the 5 posts that didn’t get the views or response I’d hoped for when I posted them.  And yes, I do realize this is a roundabout way of improving the views and response to those posts.  🙂  We’ll call these the top 5 under viewed posts.

Top 5 Under Viewed Posts – Year

5.  Southern Gospel’s Sgt. Pepper and Pet Sounds – 2008
4.  Why Quality In Our Music Matters – 2010
3.  The Return Of The Single? – 2009
2.  Approachability Vs. Marketability In SG – 2011
1.  Does SG Value Artistry and Creativity? – 2010

Again, thank you for your readership, you are truly appreciated.  Here’s to the next 1000 posts!

About Wes Burke
I'm a .NET developer and Southern Gospel music fan. Married with a wonderful family.

5 Responses to Post #1000 – A Thank You

  1. Congratulations on #1000, and thank you for your contributions to our genre!

  2. Diana says:

    Congratulations, Wes!!! You do a wonderful job with your posts and yours is one of the first that I read every day!!

  3. Eric Melton says:

    Good morning Wes. Thank you as always for your news from your site.

    I was interested in knowing if you are getting my news releases that I send out. I would appreciate if you would let me know what the best way is to email news releases to you.

    Thank you, Eric Melton Choice Promotions and Managment

    *Eric Melton* *Choice Promotions and Management* *103 Donmond Drive* *Hendersonville, TN 37075* *615-590-7032 Office* *615-681-5538 Cell* *choicepromotionsandmgmt@gmail.com* http://www.choicepromotions

  4. Pingback: Saturday News Roundup #141 | SouthernGospelBlog.com

  5. Ha! Top 5 under-viewed. Very slick Wes, very slick. Congratulations. 🙂

Have something to say?

