A Stroll Down Memory Lane

I came across my collection of “yearbooks” from the West Virginia State Gospel Sing which was (and as far as I know, still is) held every summer in a small town called Mt. Nebo, WV, near Summersville, WV.  As I was looking through the books, I saw some fairly familiar faces.  I put these on Facebook, but thought I’d share them here as well.

This is the Calvarymen Quartet, from 1975. At the bottom left is Conrad Cook (who later founded the Calvary Echoes). Beside him at the bottom right is none other than Squire Parsons.
This is also the Calvarymen from 1978. By this time Squire was singing with the Kingsmen, Conrad Cook had also left the group, but 2nd from left you will find a young Ed Crawford.
Speaking of Conrad Cook and the Calvary Echoes, here they are in 1983 before they made the move to East Tennessee.
The lady in this photo needs no introduction. A legend in Southern Gospel music, Naomi Sego, from 1983.
Originally formed by Harold Lane, the Gospel Harmony Boys are one of the most well known groups to come from the state of West Virginia. Here they are in 1983.

…and last and most certainly least….

Yours truly, at 5 or 6 years old with my grandparents and uncles. Again from 1983. The astute among you will figure out how old I am now.

I’ve got an entire storage bin full of these yearbooks, so if I run across some more familiar faces, I’ll most certainly share. Hope you enjoyed a little stroll down memory lane, and seeing some familiar names before they became well known.

About Wes Burke
I'm a .NET developer and Southern Gospel music fan. Married with a wonderful family.

3 Responses to A Stroll Down Memory Lane

  1. LeviSJ says:

    The Mt. Nebo Sing is still going on. The website is http://www.wvgospelsing.com. My friend Denzil goes all the time with this group, and he’s got stacks of old yearbooks. I think he said he’s been going since he was 14.

  2. LeviSJ says:

    That should be “with his group” not “this”.

Have something to say?

