Thrift Store Finds

I had 45 minutes or so to kill Friday afternoon before I met my wife and kids for a birthday party for one of my son’s friends.  Down the street from where the party was being held, I came across a thrift store that had a name like “Hands of God Thrift Store” or something similar.  I figured I could look around for a while, and I’m glad I did!  I ended up walking out of the store with the following:

  • Booth Brothers – Harmony still sealed CD ($1)
  • Brian Free and Assurance – Requests cassette (the ultra rare original trio project, $0.50)
  • Gold City – Requested Hymns vol 1-3 cassettes (Brian Free/Ivan Parker/Steve Lacey lineup, $0.50 each)
  • Imperials – Now LP ($1)
  • A various artists LP from the early – mid 60s ($1)

The various artists LP is a bit intriguing, it’s a HeartWarming album, but on an early budget label.  It includes songs from Ira Stanphill, Dottie Rambo, The Gospel Echoes (Rambos, I’m guessing), the Imperials, the Plainsmen, and several other well known names.  More on that album when I get a chance to rip it to mp3.  Thrift stores have always been good to me!

About Wes Burke
I'm a .NET developer and Southern Gospel music fan. Married with a wonderful family.

9 Responses to Thrift Store Finds

  1. Brian Fuson says:

    Lucked out a little while back and got a Goss Brothers record from a box of records that was given to my dad!

  2. AndrewS. says:

    I found a signed copy of a Goodmans record, 99 44/100, at a Goodwill near my home. My dad also discovered a record of Howard Goodman preaching at another local thrift store. :-)

  3. Ooooooh, groovy. Gotta get me to a thrift store one of these days. :D

  4. Wish we had some more shops like these in Northern Ireland! Although i did find a Mark Lowry, “Mouth in Motion” or some similar title in a thrift store here.

  5. lee65 says:

    Congrats on your thrift store finds!!! I’m a yardsale/goodwill/auction hound and have found lots of good SG music over the years.A couple years ago i was at an esate auction and ran up on a box of 12 or 15 dvds and about 20 cds of Gaither Homecoming stuff that i got for 60 bucks and most were unopened .Happy hunting!!!

  6. coomercove says:

    You make me sick…

    I had to pay $100 for the Gold City Requested Hymns 3 pack on Ebay.

  7. Brent says:

    I’m always hitting the thrift stores looking for Southern Gospel Stuff. Matter of fact this past weekend I wound up with 110+ Gospel Vinyls from a Goodwill. You just never know what you are going to find. Great pick-ups man.

  8. BAS says:

    Picked up some very nice Cathedrals LPs about a month ago. You never know what you will find!

Have something to say?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 262 other followers

