Update On The 100 Year Celebration Of SG DVD

On his latest open thread, AVFL asks why there hasn’t been a DVD release of the big 100 Year Celebration showcase from NQC last year that featured reunions of many popular groups (Gold City, Singing Americans, Downings, Nelons, etc.).  I’ve been wondering the same thing myself, so I asked Daywind about it, as they were the label that had rights to release the video.

In response, I have learned that the DVD is due to be released at NQC this year, and will be titled 100 Years: A Celebration of Southern Gospel Music.  So there you have it.  Be looking for the DVD at convention this year, and of course if anything changes, I’ll keep you updated as best I can.

About Wes Burke
I'm a .NET developer and Southern Gospel music fan. Married with a wonderful family.

4 Responses to Update On The 100 Year Celebration Of SG DVD

  1. Why do I have a feeling they’ll edit out the bit where Brian Free’s band started Gold City off wrong for “I Think I’ll Read It Again?” 😉

    Speaking of, I never got why Brian took so much heat for being “cranky” there. The band screwed up, and he nicely asked them to re-start. What else was he supposed to do?

  2. Wes Burke says:

    Something tells me you are right. 🙂 I’ve not understood that either…especially since said reboot can easily be edited out of the DVD.

  3. steven says:

    I hope they keep the bit with Brian Free in it…it was great!

    I also wonder if they will re-edit the singing american’s portion with Glory Road

    It’ll be great to get the DVD however!

  4. revrobwimb1 says:

    No doubt “Glory Road” from Singing Americans is on the chopping block…

    Rick Strickland reached for a 25year old high note and well…you know the rest. I remember blushing really bad after watching that… It was so sad. The other guys maintained such a professional ‘face’… Old pro’s indeed.

    YouTube will keep the high note ‘always on our mind’

Have something to say?

