Tim Duncan Departs Signature Sound; Ian Owens Joins

Tim Duncan has submitted his resignation as Ernie Haase & Signature Sound’s bass vocalist.  Replacing Tim will be Ian Owens, formerly with the Cumberland Quartet and the Imperials.  You can read the press release here.  Owens is a fine bass singer, and most definitely has the vocal chaps to fill the void.  It will be interesting to see how the group’s on stage persona changes, and Duncan’s enthusiastic presence on “Stand By Me” really catapulted EHSS when they were starting out.  Best wishes to Tim, Ian, and the rest of EHSS.

About Wes Burke
I'm a .NET developer and Southern Gospel music fan. Married with a wonderful family.

22 Responses to Tim Duncan Departs Signature Sound; Ian Owens Joins

  1. Kevin says:

    I wonder what the audtioned first. His dancing or singing? I’m just sayin’.

  2. MD says:

    Is this a Ryan Seaton resignation?

    • Michelle says:

      I don’t understand…I thought Ryan left on good terms. Am very upset about Tim-he is the best bass singer I have ever heard in my life.

  3. New SoGo Fan says:

    I was fond of Tim, so this is tough for me to swallow even though I have every confidence in Ian.

    As for on-stage persona, I think Tim is probably quieter than Ian, so possibly look for a little more energy…

  4. Jeff Gurnett says:

    Yes, MD. Nail on the head.

  5. Dee Ornduff says:

    Was very saddened to hear today of Tim leaving. Will always continue to support Ernie and Signature Sound, but just disappointed to know he wont be at the next concert we attend. What a voice. But Im sure Ian, is good too.

  6. musikcrazy says:

    I agree about Ian Owens. Have seen him before in concert with the Imperials. He will be add lots of energy along with his impressive bass talent. The thing I like about Ian is his personality. When I have approached him, he is very kind and sincere. Ernie did his homework in my opinion. I wish Tim and his family the best and they move into a different season in their lives. Blessings to SS!

  7. Joyce Park says:

    This news is heartbreaking. I cannot imagine Signature Sound without Tim! They were my favorite group.

  8. Arielle says:

    Does anyone know how Ryan Seaton is doing? I love Ryan but was underwhelmed with his solo CD. He sings two songs written by his producers which are not up to Ryan’s talent. Ryan needs good material. Please, producers, don’t make Ryan’s talent go to waste with mediocre material! I wish Ryan’s God’s blessing.

    • New SoGo Fan says:

      I don’t know Arielle, but I kind of see what you mean. I like Ryan’s voice but feel he needs better songs. Perhaps another CD is in the works!

  9. I don’t feel that the group has been as good since Ryan’s departure and the loss of Tim will be devastating.

  10. carol pittman says:

    I disagree. I saw them last night in Tullahoma, TN and they have NEVER sounded better. The new bass is fantastic. Has the most beautiful bass solo voice I have EVER heard.

  11. Arielle says:

    I have been watching videos with the new EHSS lead singer. I like him and he blends in okay. However, he can never measure up to Ryan’s ability to make a song burst out in perfect melody to make the quartet sound great. To me it seems EHSS has sort of lowered the melody to accomodate Ian. They did some great songs but Ian’s song to honor Glen Payne was so different from what I expected. Please, I am not criticizing Ian or EHSS, I’m just saying each singer is different with special abilities and we should just get used to the fact that personnel change and quartets go on. And should EHSS come anywhere near my area I would certainly be there! My fave has always been Doug Anderson, he is so obviously a true man of God. I can see worship and reverence in his face when he sings.

    • New SoGo Fan says:

      I think perhaps you mean Devin’s song to honor Glen Payne. I personally think he did a beautiful job, even though Devin’s voice quality is very different from Ryan’s. I miss Ryan (who doesn’t?) but I must acknowledge the great contributions Devin has made, and I continue to enjoy the group. I understand what you mean, and it took a little time for him to grow on me as well, but I really think he’s improved since first joining.

  12. Arielle says:

    New SoGo Fan. Thanks for your correction, I did mean Devin’s song to honor Glen Payne and it was very moving. And beautiful as you said.

  13. ehss old fan says:

    All of what Arielle was saying was with respect to Devin…not Ian. I, too, was at Tullahoma and saw the new bass. I was completely thrilled to say the least. Ian is a great choice. I agree with Carol when she says Ian has the most beautiful bass solo voices I have heard. Good choice, Ernie!

  14. gio says:

    when it comes to stuff like this I only wish the truth of the departure was stated not the “cover story” it seems like it is always a generic announcement. I wish EHSS all the best i have been following Southern Gospel music for 35 years from Blackwoods to Cathedrals. I think change is good I wish Tim all the best as i do Ernnie. But lets keep it real I must say the group has all of the energy and focus of the Catherdrals and i love hearing them!!

  15. Karen says:

    I was so disappointed to hear that Tim was leaving SS. That’s the moat depressing news that I have heard since Guy Penrod left The Gaither Vocal Band.

  16. Phyllis Cumming says:

    I am very disappointed in the EHSS group. They were so great to watch and their music was so wonderful. I really missed Ryan when he left but with Tim gone too I don’t feel that they are as good to watch or hear. Please Ernie, prove me wrong.

  17. Shirley says:

    I think there is a problem with the quartet for singers to be moving on. It raises a red flag with me when a quartet loses singers. I admire the Statler Bros. and the Oak Ridge Boys for basically having the same singers throughout there careers.

  18. Carly Young says:

    Ian rocks!!! I too was a little sad to hear Tim left. I went to a concert couple of months age in CA. Ian had a great voice and was funny. I feel he makes a good fit in the group. Devon has made his place also in this group. Great job Devon. Wondeful concert!!! Please go and hear EHSS it will bless you. I’ll be back.

Have something to say?

