SG Insights: Brent Mitchell – Gold City

It has been quite a while since I did one of these, but with the recent buzz about Brent Mitchell becoming the new tenor for Gold City, and with this past weekend being Mitchell’s first official weekend with the group, I took the opportunity to ask him a few questions about his first weekend.  We’ve seen the YouTube videos and heard the reports that have trickled out, I think it’s a bit unique and interesting to hear Brent’s thoughts and perspective.  With that said, off we go…

WB:  Overall, what did you take away from your first weekend with Gold City?
BM:  It was such an honor to get to stand on stage with a group that I have been a fan of my whole life. But more than that was having the chance to get to know each of these guys personally and to see that these great guys live exactly what they sing. I am so blessed to get to play a small part in this quartet.

WB:  It’s been a while since you were on the road every weekend with Mercy’s Mark. Was it hard getting readjusted to life on the road?
BM:  Not at all, I had a blast. I was worried I would have to learn to sleep on a moving bus all over again, but I slept like a baby.

WB:  Gold City has had a pretty stable set list since the first of the year. Are there any planned changes to the set list? Any songs that are going to be staged just for you or at your request?
BM:  The set list will remain the same I assume. GC has had so many hits over the years and there are many of those songs that will always be included in a GC concert.  Being my first weekend I have not actually practiced with the group yet. So we have not got that far as to know what songs I will be doing yet.

WB:  What are the plans for the mainline recording?
BM:  I will start my vocals on the new project asap. I can’t wait to get to work with Michael English!

WB:  What was the most challenging part of your first weekend? What was the most fun?
BM:  The most challenging was trying to remember words to 20+ songs and where,when, and what part to come in on.
The most fun was just sitting on the bus getting to talk and learn from a legend like Tim Riley. It was so interesting to hear the stories of all the experiences he has had being in gospel music for so many years. He is one of the most down to earth people you will ever meet.

Brent also stated that as expected, “I Stand Redeemed” is going to be scratched from the mainline CD, but it will be replaced with a song that is chosen just for him.  They just haven’t decided on one yet.  That’s good to hear, and that particular song may be the most important going forward for them, as it will be the one song chosen specifically to fit Mitchell’s voice and style.

I’d like to thank Brent for agreeing to do this interview.  Brent has been a long time, faithful reader of this blog, and has been incredibly encouraging to me as blogger.  He is one of the absolute nicest guys in SG music.  Thanks for the support and the readership Brent, and congratulations on your new position!  If Gold City is in your area soon, go see them and support them as they transition.  Then come back and tell us how it went!

About Wes Burke
I'm a .NET developer and Southern Gospel music fan. Married with a wonderful family.

7 Responses to SG Insights: Brent Mitchell – Gold City

  1. Adam Edwards says:

    Brent is a class act, for sure. Can’t wait to hear more from Gold City, now that he’s with them!

  2. Diana says:

    Thanks, Wes. I really enjoyed the interview of one of my favorite SG people!

  3. Michael Davis says:

    Brent Mitchell is not only a wonderful singer but is a dedicated Christian young man. He is a devoted husband and father who possesses a servant’s heart. I am proud Gold City chose Brent for their new tenor. He will certainly be an asset to this award winning quartet.

  4. New SoGo Fan says:

    Yeah… another great guy. See, this is why I love being a conservative Christian–we have the good guys, yes? 😉

  5. quartet-man says:

    Thanks guys for an interesting interview.

  6. Daniel Wade says:

    Hey Wes, since you spoke with Brent, what’s the possibility of you suggesting that they do “I’m Amazed” as the replacement song. This is the best song that Mercy’s Mark did featuring Brent. I think Gold City would blow it out.

    Daniel

  7. steve krout says:

    Would love to see them bring back “Do it by the Book.” I think he’d sound awesome on it…

Have something to say?

