College Football Starts Tonight!

After a seeming eternity of an off-season, college football kicks back off tonight!  Memphis is in year one of a new era, with former Tiger RB Larry Porter as head coach, and he’s kept the media in the dark since his hiring, so our game against Mississippi State on Saturday is quite the enigma.  We did name Cannon Smith, son of FedEx founder Fred Smith, as our starting QB.  As you can well imagine, the media is having a field day with the puns.  (Can Cannon deliver?  yuk yuk).

The West Virginia Mountaineers have an interesting season as well, stars Noel Devine and Jock Sanders are back, but they have a brand new starting QB in Geno Smith, who got some time last year when Jarrett Brown got hurt.  It’ll be interesting to see how Smith builds on his so-so performances from last year.

What’s the outlook for your team(s)?

About Wes Burke
I'm a .NET developer and Southern Gospel music fan. Married with a wonderful family.

11 Responses to College Football Starts Tonight!

  1. My teams are Gold City, the Mark Trammell Quartet, the Collingsworth Family . . . . . . . . . .

    🙂

  2. Nate Stainbrook says:

    That’s a good one Daniel… 🙂

    Wes I am big Indiana Hoosier fan and believe it or not I am proud to say that too! 🙂 I think IU will do well this year, I will be attending tonights game… So if you have the Big Ten Network check out my hoosiers, I think you might come away slightly impressed, they have a great high scoring offense that should put up some gaudy numbers against Towson tonight…

    • burkesbrainwork says:

      I think my local high school team could put up big numbers against Towson. LOL I actually used to have the Big Ten Network on my Dish, but they’ve since removed it. Haven’t paid much attention to Indiana football, but you’ve got a good basketball coach in Crean. I’m familiar with him from his Marquette days.

    • Steve Eaton says:

      Towson is my old Alma Mater back in Maryland. Let’s just say Football was never their strongest sport…..

      • burkesbrainwork says:

        That’s OK. The same can be said for Memphis. Now when it comes time for the hardwood and hoops, watch out! 🙂

  3. Keith says:

    Oh yeah, Nate. I’m a big IU fan, too (I’m even an alumnus; 2 years). They just haven’t had much talent to speak of when it comes to football. Of course, the big game for me takes place Monday night at FedEx field in Washington DC. Go Broncos.

  4. Nate Stainbrook says:

    Well I am home from the game, IU won 51-17… But as we have pointed out it was against Towson… If they do that against Michigan on October 3rd, I would well… Go nuts lol… Hope your Tigers do well this year Wes, I have followed them from afar over the last few years, I do like your new coach quite a bit…

  5. Nate Stainbrook says:

    And Keith yes I do like Boise State as well, they have built a very very nice program out there… To bad they don’t really get the attention they deserve at least IMO…

  6. Shelby T Mitchell says:

    Hey go UT Vols! Hey Burke, do you like NFL? Now that is my kind of football! It starts on Thursday btw!

Have something to say?

