Mansion Releases Sing Out America DVDs

In the early 80s, Bill Traylor had a TV show called “Sing Out America!” (thanks Kyle!).  Last night after running some errands down around the mall, I told my wife I’d like to head over to Lifeway and just look around a while.  I must say that while their selection of SG CDs was decent, but fairly picked over, they did have a pretty nice selection of SG DVDs.  There were a couple of Crabb Family DVDs, Brian Free & Assurance’s latest DVD (with the songs from Real Faith), and several other non-Gaither DVDs.  As I was looking through, I came across several DVDs that were labeled “Sing Out America” from Mansion Entertainment.  Volume 5 was labeled “Gold City Quartet.”

I bought the DVD for $12.98 and took it home.  There were 10 songs on it, 8 of which were from the short lived Brian Free/Bill Crittendon/Jerry Ritchie/Tim Riley lineup.  The other two were the classic Free/Parker/Lefevre/Riley lineup.  It’s interesting to note that while a full band accompanies both eras, the earlier performances are obviously done live, while the Parker/Lefevre songs (“Cool Drink Of Water” and “After I Bow”!!) are pretty obviously lip-synched to the Double Take recording.  Still, it’s a great video to watch, as it documents the early days of Gold City, as well as being a very rare lineup.

I checked Mansion’s website this morning, and there are 10 volumes.

  • Volume 1: A Classic Collection
  • Volume 2:  The Blackwood Brothers with Guests, The Speer Family, The Dixie Echoes
  • Volume 3: The Speer Family
  • Volume 4: Florida Boys
  • Volume 5: Gold City Quartet
  • Volume 6: Rusty Goodman Family
  • Volume 7: The Hoppers
  • Volume 8: The Hinsons
  • Volume 9: The McKameys
  • Volume 10: Wendy Bagwell and The Sunliters

The video and audio are of pretty good quality, and definitely better than the Gospel Singing Jubilee DVDs I found a while back at Dollar General.  They’re not quite Gaither quality, but they’re definitely worth watching.  Though they aren’t credited as such, The Cathedrals do appear on both Volumes 1 and 2 of the collection.  One minor glitch, at least on the Gold City DVD, is that the song listing on the back of the DVD case is incorrect, and not a complete list.  “After I Bow” was not listed at all, but was instead a VERY pleasant surprise, as it’s one of my all time favorite Gold City songs.

Be watching out for these.  I know Lifeway has them, and you can get them Direct from Mansion’s website.

About Wes Burke
I'm a .NET developer and Southern Gospel music fan. Married with a wonderful family.

7 Responses to Mansion Releases Sing Out America DVDs

  1. Great post, Wes! I’ve seen these, but didn’t buy them. I was afraid it would be nothing but compilations of videos I already had. I’ll be going to Lifeway during lunch to (hopefully) find the Gold City DVD.

  2. Andrew S. says:

    I’m thinking that some of those artists may carry them today. I went to a McKameys concert this past Saturday, and they had them for sale.

  3. Dean Adkins says:

    I have the entire set. Some good stuff on some…Rusty Goodman with Tim Riley doing “Let Your Fingers Do the Walking”, Dixie Echoes wit Eddie Broome, Roger Talley on piano for Hoppers, Michael English does “I Bowed On My Knees” (the intelligible version). Also on the Hoppers one can see a minor miracle, Claude has gray hair on earlier videos but in later years version it has darkened!

  4. burkesbrainwork says:

    Dean, “Let Your Fingers Do the Walking” is mistakenly listed on the Gold City DVD. I’m guessing it is actually on the Rusty Goodman Family volume?

    • Dean Adkins says:

      It’s on Vol 1…but listing is “Heart Mender”. Also the Hoppers song on Vol 1 is incorrect.

  5. Steve Eaton says:

    And if Bill Traylor still has the rights to all the programs, he should have enough footage to do 60 volumes. I remember this show on the TV as a kid. The show was on from about 1981 through 1988 (guessing). Groups that I know of that were on the program at one time or another included the Singing Americans, Paynes, Lesters, Speers, Dixie Melody Boys, Hemphills, Talleys, Kingsmen, Greenes, Heaven Bound and more.

    • burkesbrainwork says:

      Steve, rights are apparently not a problem. I wonder though about the amount of footage that remains available and in good enough shape to release. Hopefully there’s plenty for subsequent volumes, and I would sure love to see some Strickland/English era Singing Americans stuff released on DVD!

Have something to say?

