Ed O’Neal’s Food For Thought

I was listening to the Dixie Melody Boys’ project from 1997, 100% Pure Southern Gospel yesterday, and I guess I’d always skipped the last track, which is a recitation entitled “I Love To Tell The Story”.  The recitation is Ed’s response to a letter that was sent to a gospel music publication (Singing News, I’m sure) that criticized groups for selling tapes, T-shirts, and the like.  Ed’s response is very well articulated and thought out, and details some of what all goes in to traveling and recording SG music.  It seems that every few weeks or so, another entertainment/ministry or financial debate rages on various blogs and message boards.  Take some time and seek out this track, I think Ed gives a much needed dose of perspective.

About Wes Burke
I'm a .NET developer and Southern Gospel music fan. Married with a wonderful family.

One Response to Ed O’Neal’s Food For Thought

  1. Clarence says:

    Didn’t Kenny Hinson do the same recitation back in the 80’s or am I imagining things?

Have something to say?

