Another Dollar General Find

We stopped in Dollar General the other night to pick up some supplies and some cheap birthday cards (DG is a WONDERFUL place for greeting cards!) and while we were browsing around, I was looking through the CDs and DVDs.  Since I found the Johnny Cook CD a while back, I peruse the stacks everytime I’m in there.  Lo and behold, I found something else that was quite interesting.  Dollar General is selling a 6 volume DVD set of the Gospel Singing Jubilee.  These are not the Gaither issued DVDs, but are entirely different.  Here are the six volumes, I only found volumes 1 and 6 at my local store.

  • Volume 1 – The Florida Boys
  • Volume 2 – The Happy Goodmans
  • Volume 3 – The Cathedrals
  • Volume 4 – The Inspirations
  • Volume 5 – The Hinsons
  • Volume 6 – The Speer Family

I will have to say I was disappointed in the Florida Boys DVD.  After about the second or third song, the audio began lagging about a second behind the video, which made for some aggravating viewing.  However, this was not a problem on the Speer Family volume, and it was very enjoyable.  Hopefully my copy of the FB is just messed up.  Oh, the DVDs are very reasonably priced as well….2 for $10.  Gotta love DG prices!

Has anyone else seen these and/or picked them up?

Also, one of the Florida Boys cuts has a tenor I don’t recognize.  The song appears to be from the early 80’s, and the tenor is short, a little on the stocky side, and has dark, almost black hair.  It isn’t Jerry Trammell, it isn’t Terry Davis, and it doesn’t look much like Greg Shockley.  Anyone know who this tenor is?

About Wes Burke
I'm a .NET developer and Southern Gospel music fan. Married with a wonderful family.

5 Responses to Another Dollar General Find

  1. Kyle says:

    I’ve been trying to find these at Dollar General, no no avail yet. Tried three different stores. Maybe soon….

  2. JR says:

    It probably was Don Thomas; he was with the Florida Boys in between Jerry Trammell and Terry Davis. Rick Buzbee was with them in the mid 1980s.

  3. Scot says:

    I’ve looked at probably 10-12 different DG stores between Nashville, Chattanooga and Birmingham, but haven’t found them anywhere. I’m about to give up.

  4. Dean Adkins says:

    Is the tenor Rick Busby?

  5. Phil says:

    I doubt its Don Thomas, as you can see in this pic
    http://www.grandolegospelreunion.com/sg-101/florida_boys.htm he was very much a blond…
    Rick Busby doesn’t seem to match the short description, he was taller than Les or Glen, you can see that at a gallery at http://www.rickbusby.com (has some really neat old pictures of Rick down through the years)
    My first thought was Greg Cook, but he didn’t come to the Florida Boys until the late 80’s.

Have something to say?

