Hidden Gems: Calvarymen Quartet – “The Ticket Song”

I know what you are thinking (well except for the good Professor Adkins): The who?????  No, not The Who, but The Calvarymen.  Maybe this will help.  Personnel on this recording are Virgil Parsons – Tenor, Squire Parsons – Lead, Jim Humphries – Baritone, Bernard Cook – Bass, and Conrad Cook – Pianist.  Yes, that Squire Parsons and that Conrad Cook.  This recording is from the early ’70s, and was released on a 45 rpm EP titled “The Calvarymen Sing Spirituals.”  Conrad Cook actually is the featured soloist on this song, though Squire and Bernard also get some time in the spotlight as well.  This is a typical spiritual, and is very well performed by the group, with background block harmonies surrounding Bernard and Conrad’s lead vocals.  Though this was a regional group, and I’m sure those of you not from WV or possibly the surrounding states have never heard of them, they would have been able to share the stage with most pro groups and hold their own.  This song really showcases Conrad Cook’s ability to sing the spiritual type songs, which he would continue to do on a much larger scale with the Calvary Echoes.  Good luck finding a copy of this EP, but if you can, pick it up, it’s a great listen!  Below is another album cover that includes a group picture.  (Thanks Dean!)

About Wes Burke
I'm a .NET developer and Southern Gospel music fan. Married with a wonderful family.

5 Responses to Hidden Gems: Calvarymen Quartet – “The Ticket Song”

  1. Dean Adkins says:

    Wes – I loved watching & listening to this group. I remember the first time I saw them, I told my brother (after hearing Squire sing a couple of songs), “A full-time group’s gonna hire him.”

  2. Jay says:

    I didn’t ever get to see the Calvarymen when Squire was with them. But Conrad Cook showed up with some group (not sure if it was post-Squire Calvarymen, or the Calvary Echoes) at the Black Walnut Festival in Spencer, West Virginia – fall of 1975 or 1976. The singing was phenomenal. I think Conrad was a band director in Logan, WV at that time (if my memory serves rightly … but heck, its been 35 years, I might be wrong). Thanks for the memory.

    • Jennifer says:

      Just ran across this post doing some family history searches. Conrad and Bernard were my dad’s first cousin. They all grew up together in the Man-Logan areas together. You are correct about him being the band director.

  3. Gary Lee says:

    During my preteen, early teen years I practically lived at Bernard’s home. He had two sons near my age who were among my best friends. I grew up hearing this group practice at Bernard’s house. I even got to go on the bus with them to a sing in the Charleston area. They could really bring it. I still remember “The Ticket Song”. It was one of those that would bring people to their feet in cheers of celebration to our Lord. Good times, great memories. One of Bernard’s sons, Richard would sometimes be featured at the age of about 10. He still lives around the Charleston area.

  4. Sherri Jarvis says:

    This is the Calvarymen quartet that I know. They have been to my house many times when they would come to the Akron Ohio area to sing my Mother would fix either breakfast or dinner for them so we got to be good friends. I still am with Squire and Virgil the only two still living and also Jim Humphreys family. Miss them. Always enjoyed their music. Still listen once in awhile as have recordings.

Have something to say?

