The Songmasters

A friend at church last night brought some records that he got from his parents recently.  Included in the stack of 6 or 7 albums was a couple of albums by the Songmasters from Memphis.   I’ve heard of this group for a long time, always heard good things about Ms. Marcy, and I know Dale Shipley and Debra Talley both sang with the group at one time.  The two albums are their apparent first album called “Heaven Came Down” and the second one was titled “For Sure” or something like that.  Anyone out there know much about the group/albums?  I borrowed the albums from him (thanks, JR!) but wasn’t able to listen to them last night as my daughter was quite sleepy when I got home, and the record player is hooked to my computer in her room.  Since I’m not originally from Memphis and the Mid-South, I’m not up on a lot of the regional groups from the history.  Please share anything you know about them here, I’m looking forward to listening to the LPs tonight.

About Wes Burke
I'm a .NET developer and Southern Gospel music fan. Married with a wonderful family.

43 Responses to The Songmasters

  1. paul jackson says:

    did you ever listen to these LP’s?

    PJ

  2. burkesbrainwork says:

    I did, and the debut LP was ok, pretty good for a regional debut recording, and a highlight is Dale Shipley singing “Gloryland”. The later LP is very good, on par with the national groups of the time. I may do Classics Corner reviews of both in the near future.

  3. Sharon says:

    I have wonderful memories of the Songmasters coming to my church in Chicago when I was a little girl in the mid 70’s. We would have an “Old-Fashioned Day” with dinner on the grounds and two concerts.

    I would love to find redone tapes/CDs of their music from back then to give to my Dad. If anybody out there knows where I can find them, please let me know!

  4. karen says:

    They were actually from milan, tn. Must have heard them 100 times in the 70’s, we traveled where-ever they were singing.many revivals and dinner on the grounds.
    I loved it when they sang “The King is Coming”..She could really belt that one out and Dale was great too. Remember Trudy? whatever happened to her?

    • Marcy Kelsey Beckett says:

      Read your comment.
      I have had all of our records transferred to CD’s. You can contact me at P.O. Box 647, Milan, Tn. 38358 if you need any other info.

    • Marcy Kelsey Beckett says:

      Dale lives in Memphis and is soloist at Bellevue Bapt. Church in Memphis – Trudy lives in Camden, Tn. just across the river from Ky. She and her husband run a
      Stop & Go Store in the Bird Song area. Marcy still lives in Milan – has been Sec. & Pianist at Immanuel Missionary Bapt. Church since 1985. Address and phone is still the same as on any of the projects. I have transferred all of our recordings to CD’s now. You can reach me at P O Box 647, Milan, Tn. 38358

    • MARCY says:

      I HAVE THEM ALL IN CD’S NOW AND YOU CAN ORDER THEM THROUGH ME AT MARCY KELSEY BECKETT – P O BOX 647 – MILAN, TN. 38358. I CAN SEND YOU A BROCHURE AND YOU PICK OUT WHICH ONE(S) YOU WANT AND I WILL GET THEM IN THE MAIL ASAP. CHECK OUT MY FACEBOOK – MARCY

  5. Cindy says:

    Wow! I had been listening to the Gaither’s tonight and began stepping back in time. Eventually I sumbled across your website as I gooled Bro. Joel Kelsey and The Songmasters. My daddy pastored a church in Ypsilanti, MI while I was growing up. We used to have them at our church frequently. I loved them all. Bro. Joel and Sis. Marcy walked close to the Lord and it was proven thru their ministry with the group.

  6. Tim says:

    I live in Evansville, Indiana. Bro. Joel and The Songmasters would sing at our church, hold revivals and sing in the area all the time back in the day. Marcy has had all their records transfered to CD’s.

  7. karen says:

    we followed them all around TN- diner on the ground and revivals……had all the old albums at one time.
    i LOVED THE KING IS COMING- gave me shivers as a young teen

  8. Tim says:

    The Songmasters were THE only group that could do cover material better than the group who charted the song. When a song became popular I could hardly wait to hear how The Songmasters woud do it. They also had great origional songs too, and charted a few also.

  9. Dan says:

    Tim you mentioned that Marcy has had all their records converted to CD. Do you know how or where they may be purchased?

    The Songmasters came to our little Baptist church in Radcliff, KY in the early 70s when I was very young and how remember their wonderful sound and harmony. I would like very much to obtain their CDs as the LP records I own are now well worn and some tracks are scratched from much play over the years. I have tried to transfer them to an MP3 format but the quality is very poor. Any details on how to acquire CDs would be much appreciated!

    • Tim says:

      The Song Masters Quartet
      P.O. Box 647
      Milan, TN 38358
      731-686-0573
      ( Marcy Kelsey Beckett )

    • Marcy Kelsey Beckett says:

      You can reach me at P O Box 647 and I’ll send you a brochure of all of the CD’s and how to order. Contact me at P O Box 647, Milan, Tn. 38358. Thanks for your comments. Marcy

  10. karen says:

    i visited mom in TN last month and saw a whole stack of these old Songmasters albums in the basement- will remember to grab them when i go back for thanksgiving

  11. Dan says:

    Sure would love to find if any are available and purchase any Songmasters Albums that have been put on CD as my records are well worn and now have scratches that affect the sound quality. If any one knows where these may be purchased please reply to this post. Thank you.

    • Marcy Kelsey Beckett says:

      You can reach me at PO Box 647, Milan, Tn. 38358 and I’ll send you a brochure of what I’ve got and how you can order. Thanks for your note, Marcy Kelsey Beckett

  12. Tim says:

    Songmasters fans here is the information on how to order your complete Songmasters collection on CD’s.
    The Song Masters Quartet
    P.O. Box 647
    Milan, Tn 38358
    731-686-0573
    ( Marcy Kelsey Beckett )

  13. Tony Lopez-Cisneros says:

    “Some People Go to Church & They’ll Pick Out That Same Old Pew,

    They’ll Look Around About To See What’s Going On With Who,

    They’ll Squirm & Twist & Nap-A-While As Jesus’ Love Is Told,

    They’ll Say I’ve Heard All I Know That Story Has Grown Old–

    But–

    THIS OLD TIME RELIGION, IT’S GOOD ENOUGH FOR ME,

    ITS JOY JUST SERVING JESUS, I’M HAPPY GLAD & FREE–

    I SING BECAUSE I KNOW HE SAVED ME FROM THIS WORLD OF SIN,

    HE KEEPS ME GOING DAY BY DAY; I HAVE HIM DEEP WITHIN–

    OH, YES, I HAVE HIM DEEP WITH-IN: I HAVE HIM DEEP WITHIN ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

    This Is One Of The Many Lyrics To THE SONGMASTERS’ SONG: I’M HAPPY GLAD & FREE !

    I Heard This Song The First Time When I Was Born-Agains Spiritually Back In The Fall-Winter Of 1975.

    I’m A TRUE Christian Now & Am No Longer A LOST HELL-BOUND SPIRITUALLY BLIND ROMAN-“CATHOLIC”-CULTIST !

    PRAISE THE LORD JESUS & HIS HOLY WORD: THE AUTHORIZED KING JAMES HOLY BIBLE SCRIPTURES ! ! !

    Sincerely & Truthfully Yours,

    TONY LOPEZ-CISNEROS
    2002/2004 Candidate For Congress,
    U.S. House Of Representatives,
    4th Congressional District,
    State Of Illinois,
    Republcan.

  14. Tony Lopez-Cisneros says:

    Another Of THE SONGMASTER’S Songs That Has Indeliably Been Engraved In My Spirit, Soul, Mind, Emotions & Memories Is: “I FIND NO FAULT IN HIM”–

    It Went Like This:

    “YOU KNOW THEY LED CHRIST TO CALVARY,
    AND HE NEVER SPOKE ONE WORD,
    JUST THE CRIES OF LOST SINNERS–
    WAS ALL MY SAVIOR HEARD. . . OOUH. . . OOUH. . . OOUH . . .OOUH. . .

    THEN THEY PIERCED HIM SO DEEP IN HIS SIDE,
    AND THEN THE BLOOD CAME STREAMING DOWN;
    AND THAT’S HOW JESUS PURCHASED MY SALVATION,
    AND I FOUND NO FAULT IN HIM !

    THEN THEY PIERCED HIM SO DEEP IN HIS SIDE. . .
    AND THEN THE BLOOD CAME STREAMING DOWN;
    AND THAT’S HOW JESUS PURCHASE MY SALVATION,
    AND I FOUND NO FAULT IN HIM !

    AND THAT’S HOW, MY GOD PURCHASED, MY SALVATION. . .
    NOW I FIND. . . NO FAULT IN HIM. . .
    NO, I FIND NO FAULT IN HIM. . .IT’S WONDERFUL. . .
    I FIND NO FAULT IN HIM. . . OH NO !. . .
    I FIND NO FAULT IN HIM ! ”

    HALLELELUJAH ! ! ! That’s INDEED How MY GOD, MY LORD JESUS CHRIST, PURCHASED MY (TONY LOPEZ-CISNEROS’) SALVATION–AND I FIND NO FAULT IN HIM ! ! ! ! ! ! !

    Sincerely & Truthfully Yours,

    TONY LOPEZ-CISNEROS

    P.S. I CAN QUOTE & SING THE LYRICS OF OVER 7 SONGS OF THE SONGMASTERS. . . . . . . .OVER 35 YEARS SINCE I HEARD THEM IN THE MID-TO-LATE 1970s ! ! ! ! ! ! !

  15. Tony Lopez-Cisneros says:

    Yet ANOTHER SONG MASTER’S Song Went Like This:

    AMAZING GRACE, HOW SWEET THE SOUND,
    SWEETEST SOUND, SWEETEST SOUND, IN THIS LIFE COULD BE FOUND–

    I HEARD THEM SING THE SONGS OF LONG AGO,
    LIKE HE WASHED THEIR SINS AS WHITE AS SNOW–
    BUT AMAZING GRACE, HOW SWEET THE SOUND–
    IS THE SWEETEST SONG I KNOW,

    AMAZING GRACE, HOW SWEET THE SOUND,
    SWEETEST SOUND, SWEETEST SOUND, IN THIS LIFE COULD BE FOUND–

    I HEARD THEM SING THE SONGS OF LONG AGO,
    LIKE HE WASHED THEIR SINS AS WHITE AS SNOW–
    BUT AMAZING GRACE, HOW SWEET THE SOUND–
    IS THE SWEETEST SONG I KNOW. . . . . . . !

    *NOTE: Before I Was TRUELY SAVED, I Hated Country Music–Especially Country & Western–NOT TO MENTION SOUTHERN COUNTRY & WESTERN;

    BUT, AFTER I WAS SAVED BY ALMIGHTY GOD ON DECEMBER 17, 1975 AT APPROXIMATELY 9:00 PM & HEARING THE SONG MASTER’S SONGS & THEIR MUSIC THEREAFTER:

    I HAVE FALLEN MADLY IN LOVE (SPIRITUALLY, PSYCHOLOGICALLY & EVEN PHYSICALLY !) WITH ANY GOSPEL SONGS & MUSIC–ESPECIALLY SOUTHERN COUNTRY & WESTERN GOSPEL MUSIC OF THE AUTHORIZED BIBLICAL-LITERALIST CALIBER OF THE SONGMASTERS !

    GOD BLESS THE TRUE BROTHERS & SISTERS OF THE SONGMASTERS ! ! !

    I’LL BE COMING HOME SOON TO JOIN YOU IN GLORY, BROTHER JOEL KELSEY ! ! ! ! ! ! !

    Sincerely & Truthfully Yours,

    TONY LOPEZ-CISNEROS

  16. Tony Lopez-Cisneros says:

    And How About These Lyrics Of THE SONG MASTER’S SONG:

    “. . .NO CRAPES ON THAT DOOR,
    IN THAT BEAUTIFUL CITY, (ECHO) BEUTIFUL CITY–
    NO SORROW NOR PAIN EVER MORE OVER THERE,
    AND EVERYBODY WILL HAVE ON THE SAVIOR’S OWN LIKENESS: (ECHO) THE SAVIOR OWN LIKENESS–
    AND THE MANSIONS THAT JESUS SAID HE’S GOING TO PREPARE: (ECHO) HE WOULD PREPARE–

    WHAT A WONDERFUL T-I-I-IME WE’LL HAVE UP IN GLORY. . .(MELODIOUS MUSIC). . .
    WITH OUR (MY) BLESSED REDEEMER FOREVER WILL BE,
    AND THE CROWN HE WILL G-I-I-IVE ON THAT GREAT JUDGEMENT MORNI-I-ING–

    WHAT A HAPPY REUNION IN HEAVEN WILL BE-E-E-E-EEE. . .

    WHAT A HAPPEY REUNION IN HEAVEN WILL BE-E-E-E-E-E-E-EEEE ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

    I Just Can’t Wait To Order & HEAR ALL THE CDs Of THE SONG MASTER’S SONGS OF THE 1970s ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

    Sincerely & Truthfully Yours,

    BR. TONY LOPEZ-CISNEROS

    (ONCE A RELIGIOUS-BUT-LOST ROMAN-“CATHOLIC” & CHILD OF THE DEVIL–

    BUT NOW A TRUE BORN-AGAIN CHRISTIAN; ON MY WAY TO HEAVEN BECAUSE OF THE SECOND BIRTH OF JOHN 3:1-16:
    ACCORDING TO THE AUTHORIZED (KING JAMES) HOLY BIBLE SCRIPTURES !

    AMEN !

    AMEN !

    &

    AMEN ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

  17. Tony Lopez-Cisneros says:

    Sister Marcy Kelsey Beckett:

    After I Was Authorized BIBLICALLY & HOLY-SPIRITUALLY BORN-AGAIN (At Home In Our Living Room; With My Brothers John & Robert) According To St. John 3:1-16; On December 17th, 1975 (At Approximately 9:00pm)–

    My Older Brother, John, Later Invited Me To Go To Church With Him During The Christmas Holiday.

    I Thought, Or Rather Expected, I Was Going To Go To A Roman-“Catholic” ‘Church’ With Him That Fateful/Faithful Sunday Evening In The Fall/Winter Of 1975 !

    We Went To CALVARY BAPTIST CHURCH, Geneva, IL !

    It Was There That I Heard An Elderly FORMER Drunkard, Roman-“Catholic”, Conman & NOW True Born-Again Judeo-Christian Missionary By The Name Of ARTHUR “Art” BROKER !

    When He Ascended The Pulpit, Being Dressed With An ALL-Black Suit, White Shirt & Black Necktie (I Thought He Was The “Priest” Of The Church) He Preached A Strong & Powerful Message (From The Authorized “King James” Holy Bible) On How Some People Worship MARY, THE MOTHER OF JESUS CHRIST: “…AND WORSHIP AND SERVE THE CREATURE (Mary), MORE THAN THE CREATOR (The LORD Jesus Christ), WHO IS BLESSED FOREVERMORE, AMEN.” !

    The Rest Is History–Or Should I Say–HIS STORY:

    THE TRUE AUTHORIZED BIBLICAL LITERAL GOSPEL OF THE LORD JESUS CHRIST OF NAZARETH IN ISRAEL ! ! !

    One Of The Other Pastors Of/At CALVARY BAPTIST CHURCH Was PASTOR (BR.) CHUCK WILLCUTT (WHO WAS BASICALLY THE ASSISTANT PASTOR); WHO WAS THE UNDER-PASTOR TO THE PASTOR AT CALVARY: PASTOR (BR.) FRANK JOYNER !

    PASTOR JOYNER WAS A GRADUATE OF BOB JONES UNIVERSITY IN 1967 & WAS THE PASTOR UNDER WHOM I MADE MY PUBLIC PROFESSION OF FAITH IN THE LORD JESUS CHRIST: AS THE ONE & ONLY HOLY GOD TO TRUST FOR MY ETERNAL SPIRITUAL SALVATION; ACCORDING TO THE HISTORIC 66-BOOKS OF THE AUTHORIZED HOLY BIBLE SCRIPTURES [AS I WAS THEREAFTER AUTHORIZED BIBLICALLY “BAPTIZED (IMMERSED)” ACCORDING TO THE OBEDIENCE OF FAITH IN THE WORD OF ALMIGHTY GOD] ! ! ! ! ! ! !

    Sincerely & Truthfully Yours,

    TONY LOPEZ-CISNEROS

  18. Tony Lopez-Cisneros says:

    PRAISE GOD, Another Song Of The Song Masters, Back In The Mid/Late 1970s, Went Like This (I Believe The Name Of The Song Was “THIS IS THE DAY”) :

    “THIS IS THE DAY, [FEMALE VOCAL ECHO:]THIS IS THE DAY,
    THAT THE LORD HAS MADE [FEMALE VOCAL ECHO:] THAT THE LORD HAS MADE–

    I’LL REJOICE AND BE EXCEEDINGLY GLAD,
    I WILL LIFT UP MINE EYES, FROM WHENCE COMETH MY HELP–

    WHAT COMETH FROM THE LORD GREAT GOD ALMIGHTY WILL NEVER FA-A-A-IL,

    CAN’T HELP BUT TELL, WHAT HE’S DONE FOR ME–
    HOW HE LIFTED MY SOUL AND HE GAVE ME THE VICTORY-Y-Y-Y-Y-Y-Y-Y-Y. . . . . . .

    WELL, HE SET MY FOOTSTEPS TO IN LINE–GAVE ME EYES TO SEE THE LIGHT–

    THIS IS THE DAY THAT THE LORD HAS MA-A–ADE,

    WELL LET THE HEAVENS REJOICE, LET THE BE GLAD, LET THE HILLS RING FORTH, LET THE SEA ROLL BACK–

    LET THE HEAVEN… [FEMALE VOCALS BACKROUND–ECHO-RESPONSE] PRAISE HIM !

    LET THE EARTH… [ECHO RESPONSE:] PRAISE HIM !

    LET THE SEA . . . PRAISE HIM !

    LET THE WIND . . . PRAISE HIM !

    LET THE YOUNG . . . PRAISE HIM !

    LET THE OLD . . . PRAISE HIM !

    LET THE CHURCH . . . PRAISE HIM !

    LET THE CHURCH REJOICE, LET THE CHURCH REJOICE & BE EXCEEDING GLAD THIS IS THE DA-A-AY, THAT THE LORD HATH MADE . . . . . . .

    (REPEAT)

    WELL, LET THE HEAVEN REJOICE,
    LET THE EARTH BE GLAD,
    LET THE HILLS RING FORTH,
    LET THE SEA ROLL BACK,
    LET THE HEAVEN–PRAISE HIM !
    LET THE EARTH–PRAISE HIM !
    LET THE SEA–PRAISE HIM !
    THE THE WIND–PRAISE HIM !
    LET THE YOUNG–PRAISE HIM !
    LET THE OLD–PRAISE HIM !
    LET THE CHURCH–PRAISE HIM !

    LET THE CHURCH REJOICE–LET THE CHURCH REJOICE–LET THE CHURCH REJOICE & BE EXCEEDING GLAD THIS IS THE DAY THAT THE LORD HATH MADE . . . . . . .

    THIS IS THE DAY THAT THE LORD HATH MADE . . . . . . .

    THIS IS THE DAY ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

    Sincerely & Truthfully Yours,

    TONY LOPEZ-CISNEROS

    P.S. I Believe The Name Of The Album Where ALL The Songs Which I Quoted From Was: “THE SONG MASTERS: HAPPY GLAD AND FREE !”

  19. Tony Lopez-Cisneros says:

    GOD BLESS YOU FOLKS, FOR HAVING THIS WEBSITE / WEB-BLOG !

    TOMORROW IS MY BIRTHDAY IN THE FLESH !

    BUT, PRIAISE GOD, THAT I HAVE A BIRTHDAY IN THE SPIRIT–IN THE HOLY SPIRIT OF THE LIVING GOD–ACCORDING TO ST. JOHN CHAPTER 3; VERSES 1 THRU 16 !

    MY SPIRITUAL BIRTHDAY–OR WHEN I WAS “BORN-AGAIN” BY & OF THE HOLY SPIRIT–WAS ON DECEMBER 17th, 1975, AT APPROXIMATELY 9:00 P.M. ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

    HALLELUJAH !

    I’M ETERNALLY SAVED FROM HELL; THE FLAMES OF ETERNAL PUNISHMENT & THE EVERLASTING LAKE OF FIRE & BRIMSTONE (WHICH IS THE SECOND DEATH) FOR ALL ETERNITY ! ! !

    HALLELUJAH !

    AND IT’S ALL THROUGH THE VICARIOUS BLOOD SACRIFICE OF THE LORD JESUS CHRIST, ONCE FOR ALL, ON THE CROSS OF CALVARY: WHICH TOOK PLACE JUST OUTSIDE OF JERUSALEM IN 29 A.D.–

    AND THE LORD JESUS CHRIST JUST DIDN’T DIE FOR MY SINS ONLY; BUT, THE LORD JESUS CHRIST ALSO DIED FOR THE SINS OF THE WHOLE WORLD ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

    “FOR GOD SO LOVED THE WORLD, THAT HE GAVE HIS ONLY BEGOTTEN SON; THAT WHOSOEVER BELIEVETH IN HIM SHOULD NOT PERISH, BUT HAVE EVERLASTING LIFE.” ST. JOHN 3:16 !

    THE GOSPEL OF ALMIGHTY GOD & THE LORD JESUS CHRIST IN A “NUTSHELL” IS ST. JOHN 3:16 ! ! !

    AND, ALMIGHTY GOD ALSO HAS OTHER 3:16s IN THE AUTHORIZED HOLY BIBLE SCRIPTURES LIKE;

    I TIMOTHY 3:16:

    “AND WITHOUT CONTROVERSY, GREAT IS THE MYSTERY OF GODLINESS: GOD WAS MANIFEST IN THE FLESH, JUSTIFIED IN THE SPIRIT, SEEN OF ANGELS, PREACHED UNTO THE GENTILES, BELIEVED ON IN THE WORLD, RECEIVED UP INTO GLORY.” !

    AND

    II TIMOTHY 3:16:

    “ALL SCRIPTURE IS GIVEN BY INSPIRATION OF GOD; AND IS PROFIABLE FOR DOCTRINE, FOR REPROOF, FOR CORRECTION, FOR INSTRUCTION IN RIGHTEOUSNESS.” ! ! !

    Sincerely & Truthfully Yours,

    BR. TONY LOPEZ-CISNEROS

  20. David Pair says:

    Was’nt Myles Howard a part of the group in the 80’s?
    I’ve seen him around on some videos, with Bill Shaw over the last few years, but it seems like he was with the group for awhile. I really like his playing.

  21. Debra Craven says:

    my family were members of Madisonville Baptist Temple in Madisonville Ky in the early 70’s Bro Bob Lamb now deceased former pastor. I remember enjoying their music as as pre teen especially the song Broken pieces and I believe they also sang God walks the dark hills. I would love to buy their songs in CD or cassette tape form. I would also like the words and music to broken pieces as I would to get the courage to sing it fro my brethern @ Fountain Independent Baptist church. they were such a blessing to my family growing up can you tell me where to buy there music?

  22. AndyS. says:

    Does anyone know if Debra Talley recorded “Oh What a Beautiful City with the Songmasters?

  23. Michelle Polk says:

    I believe Debra Talley did record “Oh What a Beautiful City” with the Song Masters. I loved all their albums. Nothing beats Dale singing “Behold the Lamb”. That is a great song.

  24. Lydia Kelsey Barnes says:

    I am the fourth child of Joel Kelsey. He passed away when I was 12 and he was 46. His memory lives on in the mind and heart of so many people. I’m blessed that you were so excited to hear his albums. Feel free to contact me at my email address.

    In His Love,
    Lydia

  25. Tonja says:

    I ALWAYS loved the Songmasters! They would come to our church in Evansville Indiana – I remember a couple of times with Joel & Trudy – then in the mid 80’s Don & Judy Fitch sang with Miss Marcy. I was their daughter Melanie’s age and we wrote each other a lot back then. Wow – the memories! I’m going to contact Miss Marcy and see about getting some of those CD for me & my parents! They would SOOO love that!! Christmas gift anyone?? 🙂

  26. I cannot say enough good things about the Songmasters. I was a teenage at Madisonville Baptist Temple in Madisonville, Ky with Dr. Bob Lamb. We had many Sunday afternoon singings and I never missed a single one when Joel, Marcy, Debbie and Dale would come sing there. They blessed my heart and I still love to listen to their music. Dale later recorded the song “Somebody touched the Lord” and it was awesome. However, I still love to hear Marcy sing. If this group ever showed up at a church where there was little to no spirit…never fear…they always brought the spirit of the Lord with them. I am sure I will be contacting Marcy to get copys of their recordings on CD!! I cant wait!

  27. Wayne Stovall says:

    Yes, My name is Wayne Stovall. My Dad was William Stovall or (Bill) He played bass on the first Song Master album when they were based out of fort worth TX, I group with Dale and Trudy. I was about 7 or 8 at the time. I still have the albums they gave my Dab. Dad passed away in Nov.20 2009. Those were the good old days . With Jim Perkiness and Joel Kelsey and all the Shipley family

  28. MARCY says:

    ALL ALBUMS HAVE BEEN MADE INTO CD’S AND MAY BE PURCHASED THROUGH MARCY KELSEY BECKETT – P O BOX 647 – MILAN, TN. 38358

    • Looking for an Album says:

      I realize this is a very old thread and wondered – is this ordering option still available? Does the brochure list the songs on the albums? When I was little, my other had a record given to her by her aunt. I do not know who the group was, and my mother does not remember. A stepparent later gave the record way, but I would really love to find one. In researching Southern Gospel groups from that time period in West TN, it seems very possible that it could have been the Songmasters. I can only remember a couple of the songs that were on it: We’re Not Home Yet Children and New Shoes. It was a standard, black full-size record with a red label in the middle; I do not remember the album cover at all. I’m just wondering if it could have been by the Songmasters, or if not, if someone else might have some idea who it was. My guess is that it was from the 70s, but that is strictly a guess.

      • Eldon says:

        Your guess that it was the Songmasters is correct. As far as I know (as recently as 2016) Marcy’s contact information is still correct. Her son, Dale Shipley, who is currently with Freedom Quartet was one of the members. I have about 5 or 6 LP’s of the Songmasters which is part of my collection of over 2000 LPs of the 60’s-70’s.
        Eldon Wright
        American Heritage Music Foundation, Inc.
        HC 1 Box 1255
        Wappapello, MO. 63966
        573-772-2114

      • Looking for an Album says:

        Do you happen to know what the title of the album was that has those two songs on it: We’re not home yet children and New Shoes?

  29. Leah Ward says:

    When I was a kid, the Song Masters came for our Revival in Gozales, LA. Our pastor was the brother of one of the singers. After church, they would come to our house, a cabin back in the woods, and my mom made gumbo for dinner. Ms Marcy played our piano, so much fun. My sister and I memorized their songs, and we remember exactly how they sang it. They’ll never know how much they mean to us.

    • Eldon Wright says:

      I have known the individual members of the Songmasters since the early 1960’s and have been on the same program with them many times. Dale even filled in for a few concerts when I still had Reunion with Tommy Fairchild. Most of the old ones are gone but we are still going strong and still singing the old traditional music. You can check us out on the artist page of http://www.gospelgigs.com under SOUTHERN TRADITION of Missouri.

  30. Sandy Wilson says:

    I am trying to find the lyrics to “All is Well” Sang by The Song masters on their “Go Free” album

Have something to say?

