Hidden Gems: Turning Point – “Devil’s Barbecue”

I don’t know for sure that I’d call this a “Hidden Gem” but it’s a song that I remember fondly from my childhood.  It’s a gimmicky song in the vein of “Excuses”, but it’s a catchy little tune about going to a barbecue hosted by the devil and finding out that you’re the one that’s getting grilled.  The last verse talks about another party that’s not as popular, but you won’t get burned.  It’s pure cheese, but I was probably 8 years old or so when I heard it, I loved it, and I still remember it.

The biggest reason I’m posting this is to ask: does anyone else know/remember this group?  It was a trio that consisted of Phil Gore and identical twin brothers, Jim and John Lancaster.  The very few results I’ve found on Google on them is that they were formed at Judson College, a Baptist college in Illinois.  They came to my church in WV when I was a kid and sang for a revival, so they were there several nights.  These guys had a really smooth sound.  Probably a more worthy hidden gem would have been their version of “Surely The Presence”, but that just might make it to a Definitives post.  It’s that good.  Do any of you readers know where these guys are now?

About Wes Burke
I'm a .NET developer and Southern Gospel music fan. Married with a wonderful family.

2 Responses to Hidden Gems: Turning Point – “Devil’s Barbecue”

  1. tusk molarr says:

    For what it’s worth– I did a quick search on Facebook. Found Phil Gore working as a lead software architect in IL (I think) and John Lancaster working as an account executive in Troy MI. Couldn’t find Jim. They came to Judson in 1977 (or so) after i had graduated. I didn’t know them (still don’t) and can’t be sure they’d even want me to be sharing this without talking to them. Still, Phil’s job history says he left Turning Point Ministries in 1986– so their trio lasted awhile. There are tons of Turning Point ministries now– so a Google search probably won’t find much about them. They were good!

  2. Mike zinn says:

    I staying in a local hospital with my wife. Lying here on the couch searching the web for info on the turning point. Their dad was a pastor at my church in ohio.he Baptized me in tbe 70′s. What have you found out about jim and john. Their dads name is bill, he’d be quite old and their moms name is jackie.

Have something to say?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 264 other followers

