Hidden Gems: Oak Ridge Boys – “Beyond The Shadow Of A Doubt”

First of all, I will apologize for my lack of posting lately.  My family and I are in the process of buying a new home, which is taking up a lot of my former blogging time.  We close in about a month on our new home, so my blogging time is going to be sporadic between now and then.  I’ve got some things in the works, I just haven’t had the time to devote to them that I’d like.  Stick with me, I’ll do my best to keep things going, and of course anything major that comes down the pipe I’ll be sure to post and comment on, but the weeks following NQC are typically fairly slow anyways.

This gem comes from the Oak Ridge Boys 1973 LP Street Gospel LP, which was the last full album to feature Willie Wynn as the tenor, along with Duane Allen on lead, William Lee Golden on baritone, and Richard Sterban on bass.  William Golden has the lead on the song, with Duane Allen switching down to the baritone part.  The verses are done in a syncopated rhythm with a progressive (for the era) feel.  The chorus smooths out the rhythm to a typical SG feel complete with the entrance of a banjo.  Golden sings the verses solo, with the rest of the quartet entering for the chorus.  Folks who are only familiar with the Oaks from their country days or their Gaither appearances will be surprised by Golden’s upper range that is displayed on this song, as he sings the song in a typical lead range.  The second chorus is repeated before a tag that has the other members of the quartet chanting “Right now” and inverting the harmony up a couple times while Golden ad libs variations of “He’s here right now…”  Buried as the last track on side 1 of the LP, this song could be overlooked very easily, but it’s performed very well, and is a very enjoyable tune.  This would make a great cut on a table project, and Gold City or Triumphant could do very well with it, with Daniel Riley or Scotty Inman taking Golden’s verses.  I’d love to hear someone bring it back.

About Wes Burke
I'm a .NET developer and Southern Gospel music fan. Married with a wonderful family.

12 Responses to Hidden Gems: Oak Ridge Boys – “Beyond The Shadow Of A Doubt”

  1. Andrew S. says:

    I’m suprised the Dove Brothers didn’t snatch this one up considering their deal with Oak Ridge Boys songs. Hmm.. Maybe Gold City or Triumphant could handle it. I’d prefer Triumphant over Gold City though.

  2. Kyle says:

    I have a video of the Oaks singing this song live….Golden is in his full mic (and arm) swinging glory on stage. The entire “Street Gospel” album is one of the best (if not THE best) Oaks gospel album.

  3. burkesbrainwork says:

    Kyle, it is a good album, but I give “Performance” the nod as their best gospel LP.

    Andrew, the Doves would do a great job on it as well. Eric Dove would give it a similar sound to Golden, who really does a great job on this song.

    • David Arivett says:

      Hey Kyle, I am looking for a recording of “Performance” by the Oak Ridge Boys. I also consider it as their very finest but don’t have the album anymore and can’t find it!

      Any info would be appreciated!

      David Arivett

  4. DarrellInIndiana says:

    Although I like this album and “Performance,” I really prefer “Light” which was the album just before this I think. It had Andrea Crouch’s “I Don’t Know Why Jesus Loved Me” and my favorite “After Calvary.”

  5. Samuel says:

    Street Gospel and the Lighthouse were recorded back-to-back. I won the Oaks’ Lighthouse album, and the wardrobe and album art locations are the same. The lightbouse came right after Street Gospel and featured Willie Wynn. Also, the band was in the group photo.

  6. Dean Adkins says:

    Being an old-timer, one of my favorite ORB recordings is The Oak Ridge Boys With Sounds of Nashville on the Warner Brothers label.

  7. william burke says:

    Who Is It Building That Boat is another catchy tune off this album that didn’t get a lot of radio airplay back then. I always thought it was a good opener,,

  8. burkesbrainwork says:

    Dad, I actually almost chose that song instead of this one for my hidden gem. I like that one too!

  9. Kyle says:

    Of interesting note, when the Oaks opened their show with “While I’m Here,” they did it at a noticeably faster tempo than the record.

    I also agree, “Building That Boat” is another great song that should make a comeback, as is “He Never Said A Word.”

  10. quartet-man says:

    Lighthouse wasn’t necessarily recorded back to back with Street Gospel. Lighthouse was an album cobbled together from material already in the can most of which hadn’t been released. As I recall, they “filled out” the song selection with Since Jesus Came In which had been on another album and featured Noel Fox. Lighthouse was on the Vista label which was Heart Warming’s budget label that mostly were compilations of previously released material. Often they titled them with hit songs of the day. In regards to Lighthouse, the cover art deal I think was to save on budget. Also, perhaps the Oaks had already (or were) making the move to Columbia by the time it was released.

    Performance is probably my favorite from the pre 1974 era with probably Light behind it and then maybe Street Gospel, but they are all very good. Mostly I prefer their “gospel stuff” from app. 1969-1976

  11. quartet-man says:

    Dean, out of the two Oaks WB albums, I think I prefer Folk Minded Spirituals for Spiritual Minded Folk. I once asked Gary McSpadden what his favorite was of the two and he said it was tough, but probably Folk. (At least if I remember correctly.)

Have something to say?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

