Hidden Gems: Imperials – “Light At The End Of The Darkness”

This song comes from 1975 and the No Shortage album with Jim Murray, Terry Blackwood, Sherman Andrus, Armond Morales, and Joe Moscheo.  I believe this song was written by Larry Gatlin.  Terry Blackwood sings lead throughout the song.  Even though The Imperials were firmly entrenching themselves at the forefront of the emerging genre of Contemporary Christian Music by this time, this song hearkens back to their Southern Gospel roots and is a classic SG style ballad.  This song has a great message of hope for anyone going through a tough time.  Terry Blackwood’s lead vocal is great, and the group harmonies are spot on.  Sherman Andrus really shows his blending ability as a baritone on this song as well.  This is just an all around great song, and I’d love to see someone bring this one back.

About Wes Burke
I'm a .NET developer and Southern Gospel music fan. Married with a wonderful family.

4 Responses to Hidden Gems: Imperials – “Light At The End Of The Darkness”

  1. quartet-man says:

    Larry DID write the song. I LOVE this song. I first heard the Gatlin’s do it on the Hour of Power TV show sometime in the late eighties I think. I do plan on my quartet at church to do this sometime. I already have a track. We just haven’t gotten to it yet due to some other things going on. :)

  2. Janet B says:

    I was 13 in 1975 – one of my greatest joys in those years was when I would come home from school & find a new Imperials album waiting for me on my bed (was my mom awesome or what?). I played this album to death & I still have it. Light at the End of the Darkness is one of my all-time favorite Imperials songs. My older brother died in Aug 1974 – this was the perfect message during a very rough time.
    I wish the Vocal Band would redo this, especially now that they’re a five-member group. While they have brought back some great Imperials songs lately, they seem to be stuck in the Russ Taff era. : )
    I didn’t know that Larry Gatlin wrote this – but now that I think about it, it does sound like something he’d write!
    Thanks, Wes!

  3. Richie says:

    Liberty Qt cut this song a couple years back. I saw them in concert and they did a great job with it. This, too, was one of my favs growing up. I was glad to hear someone do it again, and do it well. They had a great track for it. Great song!

    Richie

  4. Daniel Wade says:

    Terry Blackwood is recutting this song on his upcoming anthology CD in the next few months.

Have something to say?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

