Major Gaither Vocal Band Shakeup

The GVB has experienced a major upheaval.  Effective immediately, the Gaither Vocal Band consists of David Phelps, Wes Hampton, Michael English, Mark Lowry, and Bill Gaither.  Lowry will finish his solo dates currently booked in 2009 before joining the GVB full time.  Speculation has run rampant about the future of Guy Penrod and the GVB for some time, but Marshall Hall’s departure is unexpected.  Stay tuned folks, this is going to get real interesting.  Check out Gospel Music Update’s information here.

About Wes Burke
I'm a .NET developer and Southern Gospel music fan. Married with a wonderful family.

37 Responses to Major Gaither Vocal Band Shakeup

  1. stunned says:

    All I can say is they just lost a loyal GVB fan.
    Nothing against any individual in the new group,
    I just can’t imagine GVB w/o Guy. I will be following
    his new career, and on the lookout for Marsh(who in
    my opinion got the raw end of the deal).

    • B J Howard says:

      Can’t believe ANYONE with half a brain would call what Marsh did a “raw” deal. He did exactly what he wanted to!!!! GVB isn’t the same, but just as good, the recipe has only been tweaked a little.

  2. denise mckinley says:

    i am really stunned guy will not be with the gvb anymore.hope he does well on his own.i know alot of his fans will follow him where ever he goes.to me guy and david really had the spirit when they sung u could feel the presence of the lord when they sung.they brought the house down.i wish guy would stay with the group,but he has to do what ever he feels best is for him and his family i just hope if for some reason it dont work out on his own he will go back to the gvb.guy just keep in god will ,to all of guy penrod fans i think we should all write the gaither net or email who ever is in charge or call gaither resources and just let them know how much we will miss guy and would like for him to come back,who knows maybe he will change his mind.all things is possible through god and prayer.

  3. Pingback: The New Perfect Heart « Coomer Cove

  4. Debra says:

    I can’t wait to see the GVB with the new members. I am sad about Marshall leaving because he had a wonderful voice, was really a favorite of mine. However, my very favorite, David Phelps is back and I can’t wait to see them again.

  5. Merlin Seske says:

    I will so miss Guy and Marshall I thank God I met both of them on the Alaska Cruise 2008
    and I pray for Guy and his family morning and night and I feel they are my extended family. Would you please print Guy’s and Marshall’s schdule for the coming year so we know where we can go and hear them sing. May God bless them both. Guy,Angie and family are very special to me.
    Merlin

  6. Fran Daily says:

    I will miss Guy and Marshall’s voice—to me they were
    great and the GVB will not be the same. I too–would
    like a schudule of where they are going to sing. They
    will be missed!!!!! I wish them all the best!!!!!

  7. Sandra Busey says:

    I no longer have any interest in GVB since the way Marshall Hall was treated. I remember thinking while watching some of the DVD’s that he was not treated the same way as Wes and Guy. Shame on you Bill Gaither for I no longer will purchase your music, magazine or go to your concerts.

    • The Rev Theory says:

      Marsh wasn’t treated bad at all. People have the tendency to react on emotion. I’ve seen all the videos and I’ve never seen Marsh treated any differently than anyone else.

      Marsh himself said that he could never get comfortable with the performance aspect of the Homecoming Tour and that he believed God called him to be a worship leader.

      Bill spend a lot of time in prayer and had many sleepless nights over these decisions and they were no doubt the right decisions to make.

      It’s all about following the will of God!

  8. Brenda van valkenburg says:

    I will miss Guy and Marshall. Guy has always been a favorite of mine and Marshall has a great voice. The GVB will not be the same. Does anybody know what happened?

    • The Rev Theory says:

      Quote: “Does anybody know what happened?”

      Yes, and I can’t share everything I know; but it was God’s timing for things to change. Bill had been praying for God’s will and direction all along and God led Bill to make some changes to the GVB.

      Bill didn’t bring anyone “new” in as Michael, David and Mark have all been GVB members before. In fact, Michael was the lead singer of the GVB for 10 years before Guy came along. Michael has an incredible testimony of the fact that there is no limit to how far God will go to find you.

      Marsh has admitted himself that he was never comfortable with the performance aspect and that God called him to be a worship leader and both Marsh and Bill recognized that it was time to move on to other things.

      Marsh was excited to have a worship leader opportunity presented to him at his exit from GVB.

      Guy definitely needed time off. Far more time off than just the month or so from last year. Guy has been on the road week in and week out for nearly 15 years. Through it all he grew a family with his wife, lost his mother and various other things.

      Guy is enjoying a season of rest and relaxation with his wife and children and he deserves it.

      Guy said he didn’t want to go Solo but God changed that and we look forward to hearing what Guy goes on to do in the near future.

      If you watch the Reunion DVDs you will notice that Guy lost some considerable weight and that he wasn’t hitting notes he normally would hit.

      The weary road life can lead to this, and it was time for a rest.

      Just be thankful for what we’ve experienced with Guy and know that all of these changes are part of God’s will for the GVB.

  9. Unbelievable says:

    I went to the Gaither concert in Bloomington, IL two weeks ago and the GVB stunk. Ernie Haase & SS, on the other hand, blew out the auditorium. Why in the world Bill chose Michael English for the GVB is beyond me. He doesn’t fit, his voice doesn’t fit. Michael began singing These Are They (definitely David Phelps’ song) and David ended it. Not good. Why Bill doesn’t retire and bring in a decent bass is beyond me. If it were not for Kevin Williams hitting the bass guitar really hard, the GVB would be only 3 parts. Guy and Marsh are definitely missed.

    • The Rev Theory says:

      Quote “Why in the world Bill chose Michael English for the GVB is beyond me. He doesn’t fit, his voice doesn’t fit.” End Quote

      Well I don’t know where you’ve been but Michael English was the lead singer of the Gaither Vocal Band for 10 years before Guy came along and has talent beyond belief.

      • l craig says:

        i agree with you about michael english’s voice not blending well
        with the rest of the group.

  10. natesings says:

    Technically “These Are They” is Michael’s song since he recorded it first on A Few Good Men in 1990. I’ll agree though, David sounds better. Also, I believe Kevin Williams plays guitar and Rory Rigdon plays the bass.

  11. Susan says:

    I, too, am crushed by the news that Guy is gone. How on earth could that be????? He was the essence the GVB. He was the glue that bonded the group together. I will miss him tremendously and can’t imagine him out on his own. If they kept Guy instead of Wes, they would have had a group unequalled!!! All the greats in Gaitherville in one group would be amazing.

  12. cathy says:

    Well, i’v just found out about guy penrod, and i two have long said that you could fell the spirit of the lord when guy sung. I pray that everything works out great for guy. I love you in christian love, your in my prayers, just always follow the leadership of the lord and he will take care of you!

  13. judykins11772 says:

    I’m just getting worried now. It’s been six months since we heard anything about Guy. I just pray he and his family are okay. He’s actually been a lifesaver to me. Pointing me back to Jesus when I was in a bad place. He always gives the glory to God and keeps us all looking to Him instead of the man. He has a wonderful gift – like a pastor. And I think the CD Lovin Life is great. Beautiful songs and arrangements and perfect harmony!

  14. Daniel says:

    Hi, It’s kinda stunning how Guy Penrod and Marshal Hall have left the Vocal Band. I mean David sings superbly high but so does Guy[These are they(GVB and EHSS, Together)?!?!?. Marshal Hall on the other hand can compare to Timmy Duncan in singing Bass(Swing Down Chariot, the end of his verse) and Michael English [Jesus Loves Me(Give it Away)]. Bill these guys have been great and loyal to you in more ways than I have noticed and letting them leave is a disappointment to not only fans but we all know you miss them badly too. I sing in an Adventist Quintet called ‘DNA of Christ.’ Guy and Marsh we love you with the love of God…DNA of Christ

  15. The Rev Theory says:

    Quote “All I can say is they just lost a loyal GVB fan.
    Nothing against any individual in the new group,
    I just can’t imagine GVB w/o Guy. I will be following
    his new career, and on the lookout for Marsh(who in
    my opinion got the raw end of the deal).” End Quote

    Breakdown – “I just can’t imagine GVB w/o Guy”

    Where were you when the GVB existed BEFORE Guy came along when Michael was the lead singer?

    Marsh got a raw deal? I don’t think so. Marsh had said all along that he was never comfortable with the whole stage performing thing and that his heart has always been to be a worship leader. God called Marsh to be a worship leader and through a lot of struggle and prayer Bill felt it was time for him to move on, as did Marsh.

    I think it’s important for people not to speculate

  16. Paul David says:

    Listen, people, get over the long gray hair, okay? The man, Guy Penrod, is not David Phelps and should not even attempt to be when it comes to hitting the high notes. When Guy tried, he made a mess of the song by the screeching and plain yelling “in your face.” Guy sounded great on only one song I have heard him sing: “Why Me, Lord?” which was performed on one of the Canadian Homecoming concerts. It was beautiful and showed what a “good” not great voice Guy has when he doesn’t try the vocal athletics. I wish him well. Wes will be missed. When he sang “Jesus Loves Me” i wept at the beauty and meaning which after fifty years of hearing the song finally touched me. Thank you.

  17. natesings says:

    I think you mean Marshall will be missed. Agreed, he did an awesome job on Jesus Loves Me.

  18. Carol Scott says:

    This is the first time I have been to this website and I am appalled at some of the negative comments I’ve just read. You would not think that some of you were Christians the way you speak ill of the GVB members etc.
    Bill is a wonderful man of God (when he doesn’t put his hand in his pocket while singing lol)
    David – he is just a fabulous singer, an all round great performer – solo as well as in GVB
    Mark – well what can anyone say BAD about Mark, he has the most likeable face I have seen for a long time……and so funny too.
    Wes – has a fantastic voice and is an asset to the GVB in all ways
    Michael – also a fantastic person and singer, very down to earth. Michael took time to chat with fans of GVB in a chatroom and he even wished me a happy birthday.

    In all I think some of you ought to get on your knees and pray about your comments and the way you look at GVB as a group. Times change, people move on and I think as the group progress to continue to do concerts we as their fans should start to appreciate them as a GROUP and not as individuals…………..thats like never going to church again cos the pews have been swapped for chairs! (I’ve known that to happen , sad or what?)

    God bless Guy and Marshall whatever they are doing, may their success go a long way
    I, personally am excited about the GVB coming to London UK in October 2009. I already met David and he is a fabulous person to talk to, right down to earth and very friendly.

    Anyway time I was on my way to church God’s blessings one and all who read this.

  19. Lori Sea says:

    This is my first time to this website, too, and I must admit I am a little taken aback at some of the comments. I personally adore Guy Penrod, however, I also enjoy listening to David and other members of the GVB. I had never eveng heard of the GVB before 1998, and when I did, it was the GVB cd I was listening to when I was told my brother had been shot and killed. Let me tell you, I am unsure as to who it was singing that particular song, but it touched me in a way that only God knew I needed. Ever since then, no matter who the lead singer is with the GVB, I enjoy the music, the spirit and the love I feel with this music.

    Yes, Guy is my favorite, but, since he has moved on, I will continue to follow him and still be a loyal fan to the GVB… I went to Moline in December to see the GVB because Guy was pictured on the ad, otherwise I would not have traveled that far in that weather, but, even though he was not there that nite to perform, I spoke with Gloria Gaither and found her to be sort of a “snob”, but, I chalked it up to having a bad day…could have been because there was so many people wanting her autograph and asking her why Guy left. Her and Bill have sacrificed countless aspects of their life to hold these concerts and perform and spread the love of Christ, I would be a little snobbing myself, i am sure.

    The GVB has been a large part of my life since 1998 and will continue to do so.

  20. Suthan says:

    Guy Penrod is the best of all times. No one can question his ability and talent.

  21. David B says:

    The person that should leave the vocal band is Bill Gaither, it will always be his band, his voice just isn’t up to the others.

    • B J Howard says:

      I am appalled by this!!!! You should search your heart and ask God to Forgive you for this “error in your ways”

  22. Nora van Wyk says:

    Michael English is the best thing that could ever have happened to GVB. The others are good but they just do not compare with Michael. What he brings to the Vocal Band is just indescribable. I’ll buy anything that he is involved in. God bless him and his family.

  23. Nora van Wyk says:

    I’m so sorry but there is something else that I wanted to add. Michael sings a song different every time. Therefore it never becomes mechanical, it comes from the depths of his soul. People who have suffered can relate to that.

  24. D.A.THOMAS says:

    FROM:

    The Rev Theory

    “If you watch the Reunion DVDs you will notice that Guy lost some considerable weight and that he wasn’t hitting notes he normally would hit”

    “The weary road life can lead to this, and it was time for a rest”.

    WELL, PLEASE TELL ME THIS…AM I THE ONLY ONE THAT HAS NOTICED THAT BILL GAITHER IS NOT A SINGER ANYMORE? YOU SEE HIM STANDING UP THERE ON THE STAGE AND EVERY NOW AND THEN, YOU WILL HEAR HIM, BUT NORMALLY, YOU NEVER HEAR HIM SINGING AT ALL!!! NEVER!! SO WHAT DOES HE CONTRIBUTE IN THE WAY OF SINGING? AND I JUST WONDER WHO CAME UP WITH THEIR NAME? THE GVB?

    SOUNDS LIKE “IT’S MY TOYS AND WE WILL PLAY IT MY WAY OR I’LL JUST TAKE MY TOYS AND GO HOME!”

    GUY, MARSHALL AND WES WERE THE BEST THEY EVER HAD!! I LOVE ALL OF THE OTHER GUYS, TOO, BUT THESE WERE JUST MY FAVORITES.

    AND, FROM “UNBELIEVABLE”:

    Why Bill doesn’t retire and bring in a decent bass is beyond me. If it were not for Kevin Williams hitting the bass guitar really hard, the GVB would be only 3 parts. Guy and Marsh are definitely missed.

    FINALLY!!! SOMEONE WHO HAS NOTICED IT IS TIME FOR BILL TO STEP DOWN, GRACEFULLY. HE ADDS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO THE SINGING, ANYMORE!!! HIS TIME HAS COME AND GONE. WHY CAN’T HE SEE THIS? GLORIA HAS TO KNOW IT AND SEE IT, TOO, SO WHY CAN’T SHE TELL HIM IT IS TIME FOR HIM TO STEP DOWN? I’M SURE THERE IS PLENTY OF OTHER STUFF TO KEEP HIM BUSY. WE CANNOT BE THE ONLY TWO PEOPLE THAT HAVE NOTICED THIS!

    AND FROM:
    David B
    The person that should leave the vocal band is Bill Gaither, it will always be his band, his voice just isn’t up to the others.

    WELL, THANK YOU DAVID FOR STEPPING FORTH AND TELLING IT LIKE IT IS. PLEASE LISTEN TO THE PEOPLE, BILL…IT IS TIME FOR YOU TO STEP DOWN, NOT THE YOUNGER ONES. YOU HAVE HAD YOUR TIME IN THE SUN, AND I DON’T MEAN TO HURT YOUR FEELINGS BUT IT ONLY MAKES YOU LOOK BAD, YOURSELF. I’M SURE YOU HAVE SEEN COPIES OF SOME OF THESE CONCERTS, IF NOT ALL, SO PLEASE, JUST TAKE A LOOK AT YOURSELF AND LISTEN WITH YOUR HEART. YOUR SINGING TIME HAS PASSED BUT YOU WILL ALWAYS BE REMEMBERED. I JUST WISH YOU WOULD LEAVE WHILE YOU CAN LEAVE GRACEFULLY, WITH THE LOVE OF GOD IN YOUR HEART, AND LET THE YOUNGER ONES COME FORTH.
    MAY GOD BLESS EACH AND EVERY ONE OF YOU.
    BLESSINGS TO ALL.

  25. Terry H. says:

    My goodness people, listen to yourselves. The name of the group is the GAITHER Vocal Band. If Bill left it would be something else entirely. I believe that he still does this because he enjoys it. He choses some of the best singers available to sing with him and I for one hope that he can and will continue singing as long as he wants.
    I don’t think that Bill looks at this as a competition, I think that he is just trying to make some music that his fans will enjoy while having some fun himself. Better singers can always be found for any group. Many times over the years when that has happened to other groups they have lost there unique sound and just sort of faded away.
    Remember this. When it does come time for Bill to step down, I seriously doubt there will be any more Homecoming tours or anything like them because the world seems to like “better” singers these days.

  26. Suzan Graham says:

    My goodness, I was quite taken back with your nasty comments. God called them to different paths and they obeyed Him and they will excel in their new ministry. Who are we to sit back and complain?

    I highly admire GVB and will give them my fullest support regardless who sings. God have given them different talents and they are using it to their full maxuim.

    We are to pray and support our brothers and sisters wherever the Lord is calling them to do.

  27. dee says:

    i’m a fan from indonesia. and i know the gvb only from youtube. i like almost all their songs and i like everyone who sing the songs. i think they all have give their best to worship God, so..don’t say anything bad about any of them. i think they all will have their part in the choir in the heaven.. so, why we wasting our time with making bad statements about them?
    lets we praise God like them, even just in local church, or just in the family…

  28. Miriam says:

    Terry H, Susan Graham and dee, I so totally agree and I am simply stunned by some of the negative stuff I have just skimmed and read. This is the first time I’ve ever been to this website. Let us please remember I Corinthians 13, please. Or how else are we any different than anyone else?
    Okay, now onto the reason I logged on here for the very first time…;)I so very much enjoy the entire Gaither Vocal Band. Each one brings unique and marvelous talents and I like each one’s individual ‘look’ that is brought to the group.
    It cannot be denied that Bill Gaither has a knack for indentifying and bringing together really talented people.
    GVB Group member’s come and go. But my fav’s are, of course, Bill Gaither, Guy Penrod, Mark Lawry, Wes and yummy David Phelps…;)!!!

  29. Susieq says:

    This is my first time on this site and I can’t believe the comments made by some of you people. Obviously you know very little about Bill & Gloria. I’ve known them back when they started with the trio of Bill, Danny & Gloria. Even had the honor of playing the organ for some of their closings at the end of the service. What they have done for gospel music is and will always be remembered as some of the greats in the field of music. Obviously you don’t know anything about their personal struggles both physically and emotionally. They have been a wonderful vessel for the Lord and he has certainly used them, not only musically but in many other areas for His glory. Are you all aware of the numerous awards they both have won as well as the many colleges that have given them honorary doctorates? They are extremely talented people but always give all glory to the Lord. I’ve seen many guys come and go in the GVB and yes some of them I liked better than others but it”s not for me to judge what the Lord and Bill Gaither decide. Traveling as often as they do each year, I’m sure is very difficult and hard on families that are left at home. I know that is the reason Guy left so he could spend more time with his precious family. As for Marshall, I understand some of it was not being able to be home more often with his family. I’m sure it puts a strain on families. But for those of you that think Bill is no longer able to carry his part, I’d like any of you, at his age, to keep up with him. I believe the Lord will tell Bill when it’s time and if it’s my understanding about men like Bill, he’d just as soon be doing that which he loves so much, when the Lord says it’s time to go home than anything else in this world. Think of all the great singers of the past that are now in God’s choir and many of them sang until the Lord called them home. I, instead commend both Bill & Gloria for their sincere dedication to the Lord when others their age are home doing very little for the Lord. (Also, to say Gloria is a snob is crazy) She’s a very warm, caring person. All of you who are so quick to critisize them better take a deeper look into your life and be concerned about your service to the Lord and quit worrying and being upset if someone doesn’t fit your criteria in a group. We are too petty about such insignificant things. The Bible says we are to be servants for and to our Lord. I do believe that’s what the Gaithers are and will always be.

  30. My parents and I go to a Southern Baptist church by the name of Shadow Mountian Community Church out here in San Diego California. The pastors name is Dr. David Jeremiah if anyone has ever heard of him. Anyways, I just found out tonight at church that Marshall Hall is our new worship leader. I can’t believe it. My parents and I are very excited.

  31. I’m so blessed that my church Shadow
    Mountian Community Church who’s
    pastor is David Jeremiah got Marshall Hall as a worship leader. I recently saw the GVB again on Sunday night at my church and he sang with them and got to be on stage with them. It was so neat.

Have something to say?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 263 other followers

